Product:
Cuttlebone with Holder
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 6 reviews.

More Products By Penn Plax:
Penn Plax Crysta-Lite Ornament
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Penn Plax Action Aerating Ornament - Skeleton
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

CL102 CRYSTA-LITE MOUNTAIN
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

See all (429) ›

Similar Products:
Stay
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

8 in 1 Bird Protector
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Canary & finch molting / conditioning supplement
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

6 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Mitch O.
Flag
Rating: 4

Your basic cuttlebone

posted 6 years ago

cuttlebones are essential, especially to breeding birds. but i hate those metal holders that they come with! often, they don't stay attached to the cage or the cuttlebone and if they do, they will eventually break because the metal is so flimsy. sometimes, they don't fit with the width of the cage bars and you have to buy a cuttlebone holder (which I highly recommend) to mount them in the cage.

Pros: all the benefits of your typical cuttlebone

Cons: the metal holders are usually useless

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rainie
Flag
Rating: 4

Good for birds, not when egg-laying

posted 6 years ago

These are great, and my birds would tear into these things in a day and have all these little bits on the cage floor.

The texture is quite soft, so it gets used up fairly quickly.

Somehow even though it has calcium, there are other nutrients in it that result in thin shells for the eggs. Do not give these when you have a bird that is laying eggs that are probably fertile. A mineral block is a better during this period, if you want to have the babies.

Pros: Fun for birds to bite at, provides minerals

Cons: Can cause eggs to have week thin shells

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Teresa C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Pennplax makes a good cuttlebone.

posted 6 years ago

Great for your little parakeet or canary, these attach easily to your cage and last for a really long time. Pennplax makes yet another good product with these.

Pros: Pennplax makes a good cuttlebone.

Cons: Non found.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

sharon d.
Flag
Rating: 5

A good product

posted 5 years ago

9 times out of ten,I would be in the bird cages trying to figure out a way to keep the cuttle bone from falling out of the metal clip,and eventually,I'd get something to work.You can't complain,the price is great,the birds need it and it's replaced frequently enough to where it's not worth sweating over.The price is right!

Pros: price is good healthy for birds

Cons: the metal tie was always a challenge

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kathleen
Flag
Rating: 4

Good for birds beaks

posted 6 years ago

All birds need cuttlebones for the good of their beacks and the extra minerals they get. But those flimsy metal clips don't hold the cuttlebone on the cage. It is better to buy a seperate cuttlebone holder, and just discard the metal clip.

Pros: great for birds beaks, and they are also a treat

Cons: Those flimsy metal clips don't hold the cuttlebone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›