Product:
Horse Illustrated
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 16 reviews.

Similar Products:
Horse Handling & Grooming
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Beyond The Track
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Hunter Seat Equitation
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

10 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
RemarkablySpecial
Flag
Rating: 4

A great magazine for the novice horse owner

posted 5 years ago

I think that this magazine is a good choice for children, novice horse owners and just horse lovers who enjoy them on paper. While the variety of topics is usually good, the details presented in the articles are somewhat lacking.

March 2009 Topics include an interview with Phillip Dutton (a 3day eventer), Letter Perfect (dressage figures), Irish Charm (Irish Breeds-includes a pull out poster), Trucks to pull your trailer, Grooming 911 (fixing grooming disasters). Regular columns include What's on HorseChannel.com, Headlines, Ask Dr.Riley (DVM), Western Roundup (teaching backing), and many more.

The magazine has improved over the years and now contains more material of interest to the serious horse owner, but I do prefer Equus and The Horse for the educational topics. I still like Horse Illustrated for the breed articles and some of the columns.

Pros: Illustrations are usally very nice. They cover a variety of topics. Not a bad price.

Cons: Lacks detail in some articles

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Delaney B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Awesome Magazine!

posted 6 years ago

Horse Illustrated is a good magazine for horse lovers and owners of all ages, even though it has a companion magazine, Young Riders, especially for pre- teens. It always has good editorials, articles, and doesn't have too many ads. Every issue also has a free horse poster and fact sheet about that breed of horse on the back, along with an article about the breed to go along. Some issues have themes, such as trail riding, dressage, and grooming. For example, July 2008's issue has articles about fences, hay (feeding an quality control), training moves, summer tips, neck reining tips, hunter class, the Olympics (Equestrian events, of course~=!), and the Tennessee Walking Horse. I recommend this magazine for anyone.

Pros: Good Editorials, Good Grooming & Training Tips

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

J O.
Flag
Rating: 4

Good General Magazine

posted 5 years ago

I haven't picked this up in years, but read it all the time when I did not yet have horses. I didn't need a lot of detailed information on how to get flying lead changes, since I had no means to practice them. I liked the photos and the breed articles were interesting. Now I don't care about the breeds at all, really.

It has good information on general things, and I remember it featuring certain riders too. Like others have said, it lacks details/depth of other magazines but is perfect for people thinking about getting a horse, or horse crazy kids/teenagers.

Pros: variety, good photos, easy to read

Cons: general topics

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kendalla
Flag
Rating: 4

Good all-around magazine for novices

posted 5 years ago

This magazine is really good if you aren't that experienced. To more advanced people, it might be too basic. I still get it because there are some articles that interest me. It is nice because it includes both English and western riding. Very pretty pictures.

Pros: covers a variety of topics, good pictures, good columns

Cons: not very in-depth

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebecca A.
Flag
Rating: 4

Nice magazine

posted 5 years ago

This was my introduction into the world of horse amgazines. I think its a must for every young horse person. Its an approachable magazine, not real technical like some of other magazines. I always looked forward to the Photo Gallery at the back.

Pros: Great for kids

Cons: Kind of a fluff magazine

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›