Product:
Raising Puppies and Kids Together
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 41 reviews.

Similar Products:
Dogs Will Be Dogs
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 21 reviews.

Tales of Two Species
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 8 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

28 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Leah H.
Flag
Rating: 5

A Resource to Keep and Share

posted 6 years ago

This is one of the very few reliable books on the topic of the interaction between children and dogs.

Unfortunately, the Timmy and Lassie relationship is such an unrealistic expectation and yet this picture of perfection is what most dog owners seem to think will happen naturally between their children and new puppies.

I am very pleased to say that this book addresses the proper expectations, rules, management, training and care that are necessary to foster a fair and loving relationship between children (of any age) and their dogs. Furthermore, this book addresses the concerns of the dog owner from choosing a new puppy all the way through each stage of the dog's life.

This book is a must-have and the bright and vibrant pictures help to make it a fun and pretty book to give as a gift as well. I recommend this book to all of my clients who have children, grandchildren, are thinking of having children or have neighbors with children. If you have or want a dog and live anywhere near children, this book is for you!

Pros: An Excellent resource for Parents of Dogs and/or Children!

Cons: None

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Liz C.
Flag
Rating: 5

A great gift idea!!

posted 6 years ago

This book is a must for anyone whose dog has contact with children. Regardless of whether or not you have children, your dog will come in contact with them and it is important to know how to make sure those interactions are happy and safe. In addition to teaching you how to make life with kids a dogs a happy possibility, this book will teach you how to pick your puppy, train him/her and survive canine adolescence. It also discusses preparing your dog for the arrival of a baby. This book makes a great gift for yourself or someone else!

Pros: practical necessary guide

Cons: absolutely none!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sarah C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Will always be part of my library

posted 6 years ago

This book has been in my library for a long time, and it always has answers! As a former (and future) puppy owner I find the book to be very down-to-earth and easy to follow. Each concept and challenge involved in raising puppies in a household or world with children is very well presented. Case studies back up the philosophy of the authors. Much of the info in the book is invalualble regardless of whether there are children in the home.

As a trainer, I like to refer to this book for troubleshooting. Also it really captures the challenges and questions most common to families with children and puppies.

And finally, the methods in this book are just wonderful and can help any family develop a kind, gentle, but effectve approach to raising their puppy !

Thumbs up !!

Pros: Well-written; clear & concise; educational photos

Cons: How about an audio CD?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Elizabeth  M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Lots of Good Tips

posted 6 years ago

Whether you are just raising a puppy or raising a puppy with a child, this is great material. I think people forget that a puppy requires a tremendous amount of attention and is a blank slate ready to learn the game of life. This book will teach you the importance of consistency and positive rewards...which is important lfor teaching children and pups. I particularly like the case statements as this gives me a real insight into how it all works. It's also entertaining reading. Enjoy!!

Pros: Helpful information for a new mommy

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Marty T.
Flag
Rating: 5

Perfect for Families with Dogs and Puppies

posted 6 years ago

This book not only covers puppy problems but issues with adult dogs as well. They take you through birth to adulthood. There is also a paragraph on getting your dog ready for a new baby. Practical and fun ideas for dogs and kids. If purchased at St. Hubert's Animal Welfare, proceeds go to the shelter.

Pros: Covers every aspect of dog/child relationships

Cons: Not in enough stores

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›