Product:
cat vs. cat Keeping Pace When You Have More Than One Cat
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 35 reviews.

Similar Products:
animals make us human
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Barron's Indoor Cats
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

19 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
GeneWeyer
Flag
Rating: 5

Very helpful book

posted 6 years ago

i picked this up after owning cats for 25 years and i still learned lots. Her descriptions are good and her style is very readable.

Pros: lots of info

Cons: none

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Andy K.
Flag
Rating: 3

Good if you have a lot of cats

posted 5 years ago

Cat vs. Cat is a great book for anyone with a herd of cats they are tending to. The author explains a lot of cat behavior that I had not noticed or just ignored because of my lack of understanding of the beasts.

For my living situation, the book was not as important as it could be for others. With only 2 cats who are pretty much the same age and who have worked out their place in the pecking order, this book was not very useful. The problems discussed have not been exhibited by our guys.

But I am not the target audience.

It seems like the book is geared towards people with 3 or more cats or those who are looking at the possibility of introducing more of the critters to their family. For this situation, I recommend reading this before bringing a new guy or girl home.

It's a short read with lots of reminders and lists of things to keep in mind. If we decide to bring home another beastie, I'll probably bring home my own copy of this book to have for reference.

Pros: A lot of good info for the multi-cat household

Cons: Not so relevant for smaller herds

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jinxkitty
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for multiple cat homes

posted 6 years ago

This book is a real lifesaver. I always recommend it to owners having issues with their cats.

Pros: instructional

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tina P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Once you start reading this book, you can't put it down! It is filled with a wealth of advice for deaing with cat hierarchies!

posted 5 years ago

OMG, where do I even begin...this book has taught me so much...I was having trouble with the new kid on the block in the house...he continually got ambushed and was truly a sweet kitty. It got so bad that he started busting out and I learned ways on how to change their behavior!

Once you read one of this author's books, you will be looking for more of them! The next book I'm buying is...Think like a cat by Pam Johnson-Bennett also! I can't wait to get it!

Please get this book if you're having troubles like I did! It also offers many practical everyday suggestions for handling sitautions...litters boxes and on and on!!!!

Pros: everything, absolutely everything about it!

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

LilyK
Flag
Rating: 4

Practical advice offered

posted 5 years ago

Pam Bennett-Johnson’s book, Cat vs. Cat, offers practical advice for introducing new cats, resolving conflicts between cats, and other difficult situations in a multi-cat household. Though her advice generally didn’t apply to our cats because they get along well, she offers interesting insights about cat behavior. For example, cats use height to reinforce hierarchies, using chairs, tables and shelves of differing heights.

Other advice seems a bit over the top, such as testing out multiple cat litters to determine which one you cat favors most.

Pros: great insights to cat behavior

Cons: some information may not be applicable, but still interesting

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›