Product:
Before You Were Mine
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Similar Products:
Adopting the Racing Greyhound
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

The Adopted Dog Bible
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

ADOPTING PETS
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

7 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Cherries33
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Children's Book

posted 5 years ago

I really like this story. It takes the child from what he thinks about the dog now, what the dog may have been through in the past and touches briefly on the loss of a dog. It's extremely gentle and parents may want to encourage empathy if the child isn't concerned about the animals past life. The illustrations are soft & cozy.

Story by Maribeth Boelts and Pictures by David Walker

Pros: Promotes shelter adoption

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Oldmaidcatwoman
Flag
Rating: 5

A wonderful children's book

posted 5 years ago

A touching little chidren's book of a boy's musings about his dog before he was his. The book ends with the boy realizing the only important thing is that the dog has found his forever home where he will be loved and cared for. The illustrations are adorable--the dog is just the cutest little thing and the text is very sweet. Kind of brought a tear to my eye.

Pros: Touching

Cons: N/A

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kathy
Flag
Rating: 5

Good Story

posted 5 years ago

Good book for kids to read before adopting a pet,
Boelts does an outstanding job of exploring the adoption of a rescued dog from a shelter. An unnamed boy whose family takes in this sweet-looking pet describes what the animal's life might have been like "before you were mine."

Pros: a must read for those adopting a dog

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Betsy
Flag
Rating: 5

Touching

posted 5 years ago

This is an awesome story for children.It really does make them stop and thinkof what the dog has been through in it's life. This book can really bring tears to the eyes.

Pros: Great for children

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michele C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Must Read

posted 5 years ago

Such a sweet and endearing book about a dog's point of view. The child learns a valuble lesson of compassion and understanding also.

Pros: Easy to understand

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›