Product:
Shelter Dogs:  Amazing Stories of Adopted Strays
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 57 reviews.

Similar Products:
WITHOUT A HOME Inspiring and heartfelt tales of cat adoptions
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Second Chances Shelter Cats of Florida by: Cully Miller
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Lost and Found
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

34 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Smilingk9
Flag
Rating: 5

Great read!

posted 6 years ago

I love this book! It is a must have/read for anybody involved with animal rescue or for someone who has the desire to get involved with saving unwanted animals. This book does a great job of bringing shelter dogs to light and helps educate those that read the book about what it is like to try to save these wonderful animals. It's a great gift idea too!

Pros: inspirational, motivational

Cons: none

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lisa Z.
Flag
Rating: 5

Have tissue handy

posted 6 years ago

The authors did a great job on this book. They feature a shelter animal and tell its story. Some happy endings, and some not so happy.
More of a day in the life and portrays the truth of what is happening with pet overpopulation and the shelter environment.
Actually, the shelter they visited was a rather good one--if they would have come to my area or other states, there would have been a lot fewer happy endings.

Pros: Focuses on individuals

Cons: Sad--but isn't it supposed to be?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Furls
Flag
Rating: 5

A great read!

posted 6 years ago

I love stories and books like these. Those that buy from stores and breeders need to read this. Hopefully it will encourage them to adopt.

Pros: Inspirational

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Patrice M.
Flag
Rating: 5

It's on my reading list

posted 6 years ago

this is good to educate people and children about what goes on at shelters. no one really has any idea. i didn't until i started working there. this would be very good reading for school children

Pros: very educational

Cons: n/a

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Carol Ann
Flag
Rating: 5

Tearjerker!

posted 5 years ago

I requested this book form my library and was so glad I did. i loved reading the stories about the dogs even though they made me cry. A great format to educate the public on the joys of adopting a shelter dog. i am always on the lookout for informative and interesting adoption stories.

Pros: Informative and heartwarming

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›