Product:
Second Chances Shelter Cats of Florida by: Cully Miller
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 7 reviews.

Similar Products:
WITHOUT A HOME Inspiring and heartfelt tales of cat adoptions
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 13 reviews.

Lost and Found
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

The Man Who Talks To Dogs
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

6 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Stevecat511
Flag
Rating: 5

A book that will surely capture your heart

posted 5 years ago

I became aware of this book because the author, Cully Miller, is a member on zootoo. Having read Cully's journals and seeing his pictures, I realized that this man is one of the most compassionate, loving and dedicated animal lovers and shelter volunteers I have ever had the honor of getting to know.

When I purchased this book and sat down to read it, I was overcome with the striking beauty of each illustration, the magnificent stories of each stunning kitty and the reality of how much adoption of any shelter's precious wonders is the only way for them to truly have a Second Chance.

The words, each and every one, have been forever embedded in my mind and in my heart. Tears steadily streamed with the thought of what fate many shelter babies will face.

Cully also gave a step-by-step account of his personal story of love and conviction to get a stray cat, now known as Oh Charlie, off the streets. After a month and a half of daily dedication including sleepless nights in his car, Cully was able to befriend and eventually take Oh Charlie home.

Because Cully is a zootoo member as am I, he shares stories, pictures and videos for all members to see. The love Cully and Oh Charlie share is stronger with each passing day. To hear Cully talk about and show videos of this journey on their new life together, is truly phenominal! The progress made over time is completely amazing.

This book is an awesomely illustrated, in-depth view of numerous cats at the SPCA, Inc. in Lakeland, Florida and was published by Cully with the hopes of raising funds through advertising to launch Project Zero.

Project Zero: "No more homeless animals. No more euthanasia. No more tears."

Project Zero has 4 main goals which I will briefly state:

1- "To forever change the perception of shelter animals..., the public will view adoption as the only option."

2- "To raise funds through advertising to launch Project Zero..."

3- "To inspire passionate and creative free-thinkers to contribute their talents...to end animal homelessness and euthanasia."

4- "To remain fluid with our vision..."

This book is not sold in stores but anyone wanting to purchase a copy, wishing to have a book featuring animals at their shelter or are interested in advertising in a future volume may do so by contacting Cully at:
cully.projectzero@gmail.com

I strongly urge everyone to purchase this book...It will be the best coffee table book you will ever own.



-- additional:

[updated on 2009-05-12 00:02:07 GMT]:
I forgot to mention, I have the very first autographed copy of this wonderful book!
[updated on 2009-05-14 17:46:58 GMT]:
Cully has just informed me of the following links:

to purchase the book:
www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/599881

to preview the book:
Here is the youtube video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRaVh2CMhRk

Pros: a true look at the lives of shelter cats

Cons: none

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Debra B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Every Shelter Animal Deserves a Second Chance

posted 5 years ago

I've had this book for about 2 months, and quickly read through some of the comments other zootooers had posted. I had to be in the right frame of mind as I wanted to go through the book in one sitting without interrruptions, and was worried that I would start blubbering and not be able to get through the book.

I applaud the content and concept of this book to promote adoptions from shelters and reduce euthanasia numbers to zero. A noble but difficult undertaking.

The book doesn't take long to read as the text doesn't dominate the book. I most enjoyed reading the poem, "Second Chances". For another edition, I would suggest moving that poem towards the front of the book, perhaps, after the page stating the main goals.

What captures the eye and the heart are the photographs. I was half expecting to see sorrowful eyes with runny discharges peering out of the pages. I would have to say that the majority of the photographs showed cats with clear, happy and confident eyes. These photographs document such cats. So many people view shelter animals as damaged, wounded, and unworthy; an examination of the cats in this text should disprove such perceptions.

What I take away from this book is that the author wants to enhance awareness of shelter animals' plight, and educate people to consider shelter adoption as opposed to getting an animal from a newspaper ad, breeder, or pet store.

I'd like to see the names of the cats featured on pages 16-17 appear maybe in the footnotes if not on the actual pages. I am not a big fan of black pages and white type face, just because my oily fingerprints are more visible on black than white pages. The black pages make the photos more prominent though. This is more a design and layout feature than anything to do with the content of the book. I think that a black background would work well for a website rather than book pages. Maybe could use a black border to frame the photos and print on white paper?

I commend the author for his efforts. It takes time, courage, dedication and dollars to promote the Project Zero concept in the manner and magnitude that is required to achieve the zero euthanasia numbers of healthy, adoptable animals. Bravo!

Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy the book, even with its painful reminders that not all shelter animals get adopted or recover from poor health and malnutrition. The importance of having good images of shelter animals on shelter websites is what will draw the adopters into the shelter. The more information provided along with the image will get adopters to focus on the story. A sad story will always generate interest, but a great photograph will really grab the person browsing on petfinder.com or other rescue websites, and leave them wanting to find out more about that animal.

Pros: A fresh and innovative way to view, photograph and tell shelter cat stories.

Cons: Wish there were more photos!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kris
Flag
Rating: 5

This book will change how you view shelter cats forever.

posted 5 years ago

This is a book that was published by a fellow Zootooer as part of his plan for launching Project Zero, with the ultimate goal of ending animal homelessness and euthanasia of healthy companion animals. From the front cover to the final page, every picture and word will touch your heart. The photographs are absolute stunning and show the personality of each cat. There are stories about several of the cats, wonderful quotations and moving poetry. There are important statistics related to decreased euthanasia with spaying/neutering and what you get for the adoption fee for these cats as well. Cully also includes the amazing story of Oh, Charlie, a former stray who is now a member of Cully's family. This story so clearly illustrates something I have heard Cully say again and again, "Homeless doesn't mean hopeless." I have been proud to share this book with my family and friends. I am attaching the link for anyone interested in previewing the book http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/599881. I hope everyone reading this will take a look. I believe it will touch your heart as it did mine.

Pros: Beautiful photography, poetry, stories; important statistics.

Cons: None.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Judy A.
Flag
Rating: 5

Change your life.

posted 5 years ago

Once you can drag yourself away from the beautiful photos and read the stories, you understand what a fantastic book this is. You cry through the poems, stories and feel inspired to take up Cully's cause to save our shelter animals. His ideas and philosophy on how to promote more adoptions and change the lives of all shelter animals are so simple but so phenomenal. Cully Miller has a gift. His love of animals and his passion to do whatever he can to save our babies, no matter how long it takes, makes me so proud to have met this man (plus work harder at my shelter). Read this book, volunteer at your shelter, join Cully's mission and your life will be changed forever.

Pros: Photos, Inspirational, Educational

Cons: Absolutely None

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sheryl J.
Flag
Rating: 5

Second Chances, will be your first choice

posted 5 years ago

I was made aware of this book right here on zootoo. Written and illustrated by Cully Miller, Second Chances Shelter Cats of Florida; Project Zero is mesmerizing.

If you love cats or all animals you will be captivated by the extraordinary photography. But much more than the stunning photos, your heart strings will soar in the triumphs than sink with statistics.

The goal of Project Zero is nothing short of inspirational and awe inspiring. Perception is reality, and this book will change the perception of the most skeptical potential adopter amongst us.

It will speak to you and touch your soul. Words simply will not do it justice, read it, live it, share it and join this incredible man in achieving the goal.

"Homeless does not mean Hopeless", can anything be more relevant?

Pros: Stunning photos, heartfelt stories, staggering statistics

Cons: Zero

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›