Service:
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 87 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
73 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

Luulamax
Flag
Rating: 1

This Place Makes Me Sick

posted 3 years ago

I'm originally from Upstate New York but My mom and I had a wedding to attend in New Jersey. (where she is originally from) My mom wanted to board my dog, Maxwell, where we were staying in Jersey so that we could easily pick him up. (If we boarded him in NY, we would have to worry about picking him up on time.) Maxwell does very well in car rides and he loves them so we weren't worried about the trip down.

Now, my dog is naturally very hyper. He is a Parson Russell Terrier and hyperactivity and a dominant personality is typical for the breed. My mom reinforced this idea on the phone with the employees of Morris Animal Inn.

When we got to the facility, we brought Maxwell in and naturally he was nervous and defensive. We signed in and Maxwell was whimpering a little bit (which he does every time he goes to be boarded.) The employees greeted us but what they did next was really not smart and unprofessional. Even after telling them about his demeanor, they swarmed around him and lets just say Max freaked. He started barking and even though he's a small dog (25 lbs) his bark is quite loud. He was even smaller then because he was barely a year old. The employees immediately freaked out and were trying to plan out how they were possibly going to take him in. It took them twenty minutes and a very frightened employee to get him into the kennel. (Which there is no need for. Max is more chilled out when he's not by us.)

They showed us the facility and tried to reassure us about his visit. We had paid the *extra fee* for Max to run around outside. He's an active dog and needs the stimulation. He usually goes to Doggy Day Care back home and does very well with the employees there as well as the other dogs.

So, My mom and I went to the wedding but wound up having to pick Max up after an morning call at the hotel that we should pick Max up early. We were only able to spend a couple hours with our much missed family before being forced to leave.

We arrived at Morris Animal Inn for pick up. They basically told us to never board with them again and suggested that the reason why Maxwell was so 'unruly' was because of the long car ride...the same car ride that he really enjoyed. He was never allowed out of his kennel even though we paid for him to be let out. His body was covered in poo and pee stains and we pretty much got a rude goodbye. The only nice staff member, was this girl that came out with some washcloths and cleaning things to get the stains off of him. She was very nice and I can't remember her name (This was almost two years ago.)

Never again will I ever consider boarding my dog here. Even if they didn't practically kick him out. These people are unprofessional and not trained enough to handle all breeds and mannerisms. Any where else Max has been boarded..they have been able to take him in without fear, despite his barking. They've been able to take him out and they are not afraid of them. So obviously these people are inept at pet care.

They're pricey, They rip you off, Unprofessional, All business no care, They only care for your pets if you hand over more money. The only good thing about this place is how beautiful the facility is. Alas the beauty does not overshadow the poor attitude.

Pros: Nice Facility

Cons: EVERYTHING ELSE.

4 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

SnowDOGflyer
Flag
Rating: 5

Almost Home!

posted 3 years ago

For well over 20 years, we have used no other facility other than Morris Animal Inn for both boarding and grooming. We have visited others but always find them to be too "mom & pop" which by itself can be good, except the ratios of care takers to guests is not making me feel my dog is getting "special" treatment I know he gets at Morris Animal Inn....when he comes home, we need to wean him off being spoiled, but we miss him every moment we are not with him on our vacation and we are comforted knowing there will be someone looking at him and paying attention to him often. He loves to listen when you speak with him so we also buy in to the philosophy of having someone read to him at night and we are always happy to hear how much he loves it. We know it, we watch his face as we speak with him always and love that about him.

These dogs give us so much for so little in return and if we can help it, we always bring him with us on vacation or travelling - but it is such a priviledge to be a client at Morris Animal Inn that I find it distasteful for others who dismiss this facility and company as high priced and factually, it is relative priced to filthy, home style facilities where you hear horror stories and my dog is worth any difference or at the very least, my diligent selection of the best possible facility. I also use the best Veterinary care available as I would hope we all do for our pets.

Pros: Ratio of people to guests is at the industry's highest standard. No one is neglected and subtle behavior is noted and addressed, always. The quality of the people is highest standards also, judging by consistency of thoughtfulness and concern of all of the subtle and unique concerns of us clients and our dogs. The people are not over worked but work hard and clearly all buy in to providing amazing service to exceed customer and dog expectations. The cleanliness of the bright, attentive staff reflects the cleanliness of the amazingly well over engineered facility. Imagine a power outage or severe storm while your pet is staying over - - well this facility not only has superior power backup but insulates HVAC by boarding areas to minimize cross contamination. All of this is indicative of what a 'world class' boarding facility is if a dog could design their own - - and I suppose a cat would do something very much like the amazing 'cat houses' visible from the lobby.

Cons: no video monitoring

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Keebmann
Flag
Rating: 5

Beautiful and Professional

posted 3 years ago

I use Morris Animal Inn for all of my dog boarding and grooming needs. My girlfriend and I rescued a small abused dog from a nearby rescue. He's our baby! He has improved a lot, but has had a lot of aggression issues. He is no longer allowed in Petsmart or Petco for grooming because they don't feel comfortable with him. After going to a few different places, Morris Animal Inn really stood out. After taking the tour, we both really got the sense that they cared about us and our pets. We gave them all of the information about our dog and even scheduled a consultation with a trainer at the facility. They felt confident, making us feel extremely confident. We scheduled an overnight just to make sure he was going to be alright before we had to board him for when we went on vacation. He was treated extremely well and we made our final decision to use Morris Animal Inn. We even had him groomed towards the end of his stay. He looked incredible, much better than any other place we were thrown out of before.

Originally, we were more hesitant about the price of the services, but found that they were competitive with others around the area. They also have many promotions (which is usually when we bring our baby in) to keep the price down. While they offer MANY different amenities, I never feel obligated to pay for them. They simply ask.

All in all, we love Morris Animal Inn. We won't take our baby anywhere else. They treat him well and we trust them.

Pros: great facility, friendly staff, neat grooming, and affordable promotions

Cons: The themed promotions sometimes make me sick (but I'm a guy)

6 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Attidogs
Flag
Rating: 2

Ridiculously expensive

posted 5 years ago

This is a money making operation that is trying to give the impression that this is a pet hotel, preying on the guilt for leaving our "babies". Sigh - They even advertise now they have a spa. We're just not into buying everything for our them a la cart when a good kennel should be expected to do some of these things as a part of their caring service. The real kicker was we'd have to PAY them to pet our dogs!!! Our dogs are beloved DOGS. Our dogs did not have access to outdoor runs and would be forced to relieve themselves in their cages, unless of course we bought short walks. They sell everything from spring water to special beds, to video access and busy bones to night time snacks, to name a few. We did not see nearly the level of care we've had at other kennels. On the other hand - all is computerized and appears to be state of the art - if you need to spend money to feel you are doing what's best for your animal, then go for it.

Pros: location

Cons: expensive and pretentious

7 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jlmbennis
Flag
Rating: 4

My dog loves daycare!!

posted 3 years ago

Our dog, a havanese named Juke, has been going to daycare at Morris Animal Inn since he was a puppy (he is almost 4 now) and he LOVES it! It is a wonderful place!!
Saying "wanna go to daycare, wanna play with the puppies?" gets the same response as saying "want a cookie?". It's hysterical- he gets so excited. He loves playing with the other dogs- and he is always in a group play with other dogs his size.
The staff has made us feel welcome and comfortable since the first day he went to day care, and now he gets greeted by name as soon as we walk in the door! It is comforting to see the longevity in the staff- the same people are there, who get to know the dogs who attend daycare. Juke is genuinely happy to say hello to the staff when we arrive.
He goes to the prom every year- it is fantastic! All of the themed parties are wonderful as well. It is obvious that there is a genuine love of animals here, and a genuine sense of caring for every dog that comes to daycare. Juke is my 3rd child :) and I actually feel a sense of security knowing how well he will be cared for while at the Morris Animal Inn.
The only caveat, in my opinion, is he comes home needing a bath, kind of like your kids needing a shower after a softball or baseball game. LOL I keep him really clean, he doesn't have fur (he has hair) and the reason we got a havanese is because of allergies/asthma in our house. So, needless to say, after playing outside, with other dogs (some who do have fur and do shed) he is messy- and sometimes smells like pee. I must say, I very frequently book him for an economy bath and teeth brushing and the grooming staff at Morris Animal Inn is excellent! He comes home smelling and looking great! They also do a conditioning coat called Healthy Coat which I have found to be beneficial for Juke. He tends to have allergies/itchy skin and after this treatment he doesn't scratch for days. (Vet recommended frequent bathing would help Juke)
Overall, I can't say enough wonderful things about day care here!
As soon as we are on the road approaching the Inn, Juke already knows where we are and starts looking out the window and making all kinds of whining noises. He can't get out of the car quick enough and in to the building, he is so excited! It's really funny. If we are home and say we are going to daycare he runs to where we keep his leash and harness for riding in the car (it's how he gets buckled to the seatbelt). Juke knows he loves it there and that he is loved there. :)

Pros: Friendly, kind staff- all get to know every regular dog by name

Cons: I wish he was clean when I picked him up

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 07960
Rating: 5

NJ Fix My Dog

June 11, 2012 | By Lovedogsalot

I have used Jean Owen, the owner of this company for 3 of our family dogs. She handled each and every one of the differently based on their issues, learning curve, and personality. Each of my dogs "… more ›

April 20, 2011 | By JonS

We have taken our Welsh Terrier puppy, Leo, to a number of day care centers. Morris Animal Inn is far and away the best. The services are great and the people are wonderful. Our dog comes home happy a… more ›

June 5, 2009 | By Giagie

I've been using Three Rivers for a few months now, they offer such personal service and are very helpful even during a phone conversation. Our dog has much improved her health since visiting with Dr… more ›