Flag

Q: I know everyone has their opinions and hears different things but...

August 19, 2008 | By Albert G. | 11 answers | Expired: 2208 days ago

Albert G.

What are your opinions on only giving your cat canned food and no dry food? I hear that it is bad or I have heard that you should mix it....
I am going to give my cat Blusky(14 years) canned food, and dry food snacks. I would like to hear your opinions/stories=)

Readers' Answers (11)

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Latest |
  • Rank
Josiesue02
Flag

Sep 02, 2008

I actually talked to my vet about this. He said that these days they are making canned food healthier, the only problem with the soft food is that it can weaken the animals teeth. I keep out dry food 24/7 for my pets and they only get soft food for special occasions. My mom keeps dry food out 24/7 and feeds her pets soft food twice a day. The reason i dont feed mine daily is because they become used to it and will tart screaminmg if youre late.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Terri H.
Flag

Aug 22, 2008

We have always left a bowl of dry food out for them 24 hrs. Then, once a day, give them a little wet food. This way they get the good taste of the wet and still have the dry all day for their teeth.

Now that my 18yr old has problems with the dry food, we give her wet 2x a day. Still leaving out her dry for her to snack on when she feels like it.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Diane
Flag

Aug 20, 2008

I know my kitties prefer canned any 'ole day, but I incorporate dry to their daily intake. There are times I mix it all together for a treat.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

ME
Flag
ME

Aug 20, 2008

I only feed raw meat diet to my 14 cats, its expensive, but in a long run so much better for them. I would NEVER feed dry food to cats, not only its packed with cheap carbs that cats can not utilize but also is dehydrated. Cats don't have strong thirst drive and need to eat moist food. Cats that eat dry food will only drink half the water amount that they need, which in fact causes kidney problems in cats. Carb over loaded dry food also causes diabetes and other health problem. Look at cats that live outside they eat what they kill, which is 75% water,and contains at the most 5% carbs. The closer to nature the better for the animal. Check out www.catnutition.org it has all the info. on feeding your cat.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Jessica H.
Flag

Aug 20, 2008

Personally, to each their own. With wet food you have to be careful to pay attention to their oral health since more dental problems arise with wet food diets.

Personally, I would never feed solely wet food since it is SO expensive, but if you can afford it and you take good care of your pet's dental health, then I see absolutely nothing wrong with it.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Melissa and Bossie F.
Flag

Aug 20, 2008

Also wet food tends to make their stool more runny while dry food keeps it solid.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Robin
Flag

Aug 20, 2008

We recently adopted a stray cat that was living around our house. We give him dry food in the morning and canned food in the evening. I don't really know which is better for them, but my cat highly prefers the canned food.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Kadiquilts
Flag

Aug 20, 2008

I agree with Shari K......I've always only fed my cats dry food, but my oldest cat lived to be 20--he got very finicky so I fed him canned food .....Dry is better for their teeth.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Anonymous
Flag
Anonymous

Aug 20, 2008

If your cat is 14 and likes canned, then feed it. I would not feed canned only to a young dog or cat. It is not good for their teeth. I only use can to mix medicines in or to teach puppies to eat. All of my animals are on dry only. However, my vet did tell me some can food is good for male cats. There is so much moiture in it, it could help avoid blocked bladders.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

Morgan L.
Flag

Aug 20, 2008

Canned food shouldnt be fed solely as it can rot teeth but if you mix it it should be fine. Also try to get a high quality canned food if you do because most commercially available types have additives that are harmful for your cat.

Thumbs Up: 0 | Thumbs up!

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Got a question about your pet? Get the answers you need from Zootoo's community of pet experts and owners.

Advertisement

Advertisement

See more ›
Know the Answer?

There are always new questions that need answers. Contribute your knowledge about pets.